Difficulty Guide

In an effort to help you in determining the appropriateness of specific pieces for your ensemble, we've developed a difficulty rating system. We've given every piece in our catalog a difficulty rating and the entire catalog can even be sorted based on difficulty level. Our 5-point difficulty grading system is based on various state and national bandmasters and orchestral association standards commonly used in rating the repertoire of traditional orchestral instruments.

Level 1 - Introductory
These pieces are put together with the first time player in mind. Simplistic rhythms, single note lines, slower tempi and basic key signatures are all characteristics commonly found in Level 1 pieces.

Level 2 - Beginner
While still simplistic in nature, Level 2 pieces are slightly more involved than those in the preceding level. Basic syncopation, double stops and limited runs may all be found in a Level 2 piece.

Level 3 - Intermediate
As the name implies, Level 3 pieces serve as an intermediary step in difficulty between the Beginner and the Advanced. These pieces make use of ornamental figures, occasional chromaticism and technically demanding passages at accessible tempi.

Level 4 - Advanced
Intended for the seasoned player, these pieces will offer a challenge to the young performer. Up-tempo moving passages, heavy chromaticism and the occasional triple stop may be found in Level 4 pieces.

Level 5 - Professional
Our highest difficulty rating, Level 5 is for the experienced pannist or ensemble in search of a challenge. These pieces will draw heavily on the technical as well as musical abilities of the performer.